CS 373 Spring 2023: Kelly Thai

Kelly Thai
2 min readMar 12, 2023

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I finished phase 2 of the project. I continued working on the front end and specifically focused on cleaning up our instance pages and making sure they had the correct information and media on them. I added two new APIs to our website and changed the formatting of our pages, and I also made sure the instance pages linked to the other corresponding models.

What’s in your way?

I mainly had to wait for the back end to get stuff up before working on the front end. However, this wasn’t really much of an issue because we communicated well and met frequently. This week was also really hectic in general since it was the last week of Spring Break, but I managed to meet every deadline!

What will you do next week?

This next week I plan on relaxing and enjoying my spring break. I’ve been feeling pretty burnt out recently so I really want to make the most of my break and truly put a pause on school for a week.

What did you think of Paper #9. The Dependency Inversion Principle?

I thought this was one of the papers that discussed principles I didn’t know about prior to reading it. It was interesting to go more in-depth about why this is so important when designing our code and how it affects the longevity of what we create.

What was your experience of parameter passing relational algebra?

It was a nice change of pace from what we’ve been discussing and I found it easier to follow than the last few weeks’ content. However, I did find implementing this week’s HackerRank a little challenging; it took me a bit to understand what I was meant to do.

What made you happy this week?

I’m happy to be on Spring Break. I’ve been looking forward to this break for a while so I’m happy that it’s finally here! Looking forward to catching up on shows and binging movies.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to communicate well with your group members, especially between the front end and back end. Also, don’t be afraid to ask questions! There were often times I felt like my questions were dumb, so I spent way more time than I should have on certain issues when my group members were there to help!

--

--